Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 26th, 2008

     Years ago, there was a lovely Beatles tune, “When I’m 64,” that I actually played as a wedding recessional for a High Mass wedding at Christ the King Cathedral in Buckhead.  At the time, this was the mid-70’s, and many brides and grooms tended to be non-conformist and very non-traditional, although it was a bit mind-boggling to be playing “When Irish Eyes are Smiling” as the pre-wedding music on my flute  while watching many of the ladies in the congregation coming in with their mink stoles draped around their shoulders, wearing tiaras, full-length gowns, and elbow gloves.  (Yes, I was the sole musical instrument for this wedding – no organ, no piano, no guitar, *long* before CD’s and canned wedding music.)

“Turn, Turn, Turn” by the Byrds was the piece chosen by the wedding couple for the processional of bridesmaids and also the bride.   They had also chosen a newly released Roberta Flack number, “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face,” for the communion service (which made me wonder if the priests had *any* idea of the lyrics), and then for the piece de resistance’ – the recessional – as the priest pronounced them husband and wife, I hit it with my flute playing the Beatles – “Will you still need me, will you still care, when I’m 64?” 

As a new bride myself of only 6 months (and 21 years of age), it prompted some questions in my own brain about what it would be like to be 64 years old, and wondering if those same feelings would still be there, or more intense, or faded away with time.

This all came flooding back to me tonight as I watched this video of Ken Mink, a 73-year-old basketball player for Roane State Community College in Harriman, Tennessee.  Ken is fulfilling a dream that was short-circuited 50 years ago, when he was dismissed, wrongly by his account, from his junior college basketball team in in Lees, Kentucky.   While he went on to have a very successful career and satisying life, there was still obviously this little question, niggling away in the back of his mind.  Judge for yourself whether or not he’s answered it – imho, he’s obviously decided to give it a shot!  Enjoy!  🙂

You can read more about Ken Mink and the Roane State basketball team here.   Many thanks to my daughter, Sara, for forwarding this on to me.  And, yes, sweetie, you’re right – it is a good argument for aging well! 🙂

Read Full Post »